Sabbatical & Other Leaves

NMSU provides leave benefits to all eligible employees. Leaves are defined in the NMSU Policy Manual. Requests for leave should be initiated at the departmental level and should be made according to college guidelines as well as NMSU Policy. Temporary faculty do not accrue leave.

  • Faculty leave does not normally exceed one year. If an exception is granted, the leave should not extend beyond a second year.
  • Periods of sabbatical, educational, and personal leave (with or without pay) do not normally count toward eligibility for tenure and/or promotion decisions. Professional leave periods may count toward tenure and/or promotion upon agreement among the faculty member, the department, and the administration.
  • Twelve-month faculty accrue and report use of annual and sick leave for all absences.
  • Nine-month faculty accrue and report use of Faculty Care Leave (FCL) for FMLA related absences.
  • Term appointment faculty accrue and report use of annual leave, but do not accrue sick leave.

Types of leave for 9 month and 12 month Faculty

Listed below are the common faculty leave types, click on the type of leave in the table below to access a brief summary.


This is a summary description of benefits available to eligible New Mexico State University employees. This information does not set a contractual commitment of benefits.NMSU reserves the right to interpret, change, modify, amend, or rescind these guidelines in whole or in part at any time without the consent of employees. If you have questions concerning benefits, please contact the Benefit Services department.

Contact Benefit Services: Benefits is a division of HR Services located at Hadley Hall, Room 17 | MSC 3HRS Ph: 575.646.8000 | Email: